Being A Mommy

On Mother’s Day I read a list called “You know you’re a mom when…” It was hilarious, and also true. It made me reflect on some of the things that have changed in my life since becoming a mom.

The major change for me is still sleep! I used to sleep about ten hours per night. Whenever I could I would sleep until eleven o’clock in the morning. I now consider seven “sleeping in”! Who would have thought that I would be able to get up in the middle of the night, too?

Another thing that has changed is that I used to close the door when using the bathroom. Now, not only is the door open, but me peeing is some kind of live show that my daughter delights in. Seriously, I wonder why she gets so excited to see me on the toilet. She crawls right up to me and then sits there and laughs.

Who would have thought that I would be excited to have a babysitter so that I clean uninterrupted? Or that it would take Dave and I two weeks to get a chance to watch a Netflix movie, or that I would enjoy buying baby clothes more than filling out my own wardrobe, or that I would enjoy reading Parenting Magazine rather than Cosmo?

Yes, my life has changed dramatically. My interests have changed, my daily activities, and most of all, my priorities. In my opinion (which in this case is the only one that matters!) my life has changed for the better. If I could go back and do it again, I would do everything exactly the same. I did not know what joy truly was until my daughter was born and she has enriched my life more than I could have imagined.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mom’s out there who know exactly what I mean.

2 thoughts on “Being A Mommy

Leave a Reply

