My Daughter, the Comedian

How do you discipline a child who is less than a year old? I have no idea.

Last week I caught my 10 1/2 month old throwing Cheerios over the side of her high chair. She would get one in her pudgy little fist and hold it over the side, all the while looking at me with the most mischievous grin on her face. I would tell her not to do it, and then she would let go. It was hilarious. I laughed. Oops…

It wasn’t so funny when it was pasta with red sauce, last night.

“No no!” I told her. She laughed at me. I took away what was left on the tray.

Tonight I made chicken and vegetables for her. The entire dinner wound up the floor. She would throw a piece over and Dave or I would say “Leah, no!” very firmly, and she would laugh. After the tenth piece of chicken hit the floor, I swatted her hand, not hard enough to hurt, but hoping to get my point across. She laughed at me!

No matter what Dave or I said or did (which is not really much) she just thought she was being funny. Honestly, it was the funniest thing I had seen all day. I had to turn my  head away from her and take a deep breath in order to keep a straight face.

So, my daughter had no dinner tonight. She will get no cookies, but I highly doubt that she took notice of this. Don’t worry, I’m not starving her! She will get her bottle before bed.

What else can I possibly do to discipline her? She would not yet understand the concept of a time out, nor can I ground her or forbid her to watch Sesame Street. I guess I will just have to muddle through. Or buy a dust buster…

2 thoughts on “My Daughter, the Comedian

  1. My daughter is eleven months old – and we have a similar problem, except she throws her food at the cats. We’re learning to live with it…

    However, we also have to teach her to be gentle with the animals. So like you, when she hits the cat, we say ‘No’ in a firm voice and either distract her or remove her, depending on which tactic is likely to be more successful. But neither works very well with food throwing – so we just tell ourselves that she’s experimenting with her world, and when she starts throwing food overboard we take it as a signal that she’s finished eating 🙂

    • Yes, lately I feel as though I am overusing “No”. I should limit it to really bad behavior or anything dangerous or that could hurt and animal or another child. The food throwing will pass eventually, and until then I will just be sweeping a lot! 🙂

Leave a Reply

