Oops

For the past week or so Leah has been making a new sound. I knew that she was trying to say a word, but I couldn’t figure out what it was. She wanders around all day repeating the sound “ahh-hoe, ahh-hoe”. I just thought it was cute and didn’t think much of it until it occurred to me what she was saying.

I spent all last week dog sitting for my mom. Her dog is the world’s most annoying man’s best friend. He was jealous of Leah and when I gave her attention he would pee on the floor and chew her toys. He also kept barking at night and waking Leah up. By the second day I had given him a special new nickname, Asshole.

It was one of those things that I didn’t even consciously decide to do, calling the dog Asshole. I just began to do it and didn’t give it a thought. Until today, that is, when I realized that Leah’s “ahh-hoe” really is her trying to say “asshole!” Now when I ask her what the doggie’s name is, she replies “Ahh-hoe!” It’s quite amusing, but I also realize that I need to be much more careful what I say!

For a week my sweet little girl has been walking around cheerfully chanting her first curse word. All I can say is that my mom may want to consider a permanent name change for her dog…

Leave a Reply

