My kid is funny!

I can hear it now…”Mrs. Kowalski, this is your daughter’s principal calling. Leah is very intelligent but she needs to stop distracting her peers by trying to make them laugh.” She will do anything for a laugh, from spinning around in circles until she falls down to running head on into a piece of furniture.

She is crafty, too. Every single night when I lay her down in her crib she looks up at me and says, “I pooped.” Of course I check her diaper right before putting her down and know this to be not true. When I tell her so, she says (more insistently), “I pooped, mama.” She knows that if I take her out and check her diaper that it will prolong her staying up. I fell for it two or three times before catching on.

She knows how to make me laugh when I am supposed to be reprimanding her. I will firmly tell her “no!” and she will look very serious for about 10 seconds. Then all of a sudden she will give me a big, goofy grin, hold up her arms and pronounce “hands!” as though she is surprised that they are there. I just can’t help it. It makes me laugh every time she does it.

Another aspect of her humor is coming out more and more now that she is beginning to talk up a storm. We can have conversations and she gets to silly at times. Last week we had the following conversation:

Me: “What does a kitty say?”

Leah: “Meow!”

Me: “What does a puppy say?”

Leah: “Woof woof! Puppy!”

Me: “What does Santa say?”

Leah pauses and looks confused for a moment, then says, “Nothing!”

So, in addition to all the unconditional love, cuddles, hugs, kisses, proud moments, etc. I get to laugh on a daily basis. Being a mom has proven, yet again, to be such a fun and amazing adventure. As my daughter learns and grows, so does our bond together. I am so enjoying her company!

One thought on “My kid is funny!

Leave a Reply

