Heartwarming Moments that Make it all Worthwhile

Leah started giving us a hard time about going to bed again. Several weeks ago she decided to spend an hour or so crying in her crib when we put her down. Also, which ever parent put her down would have to deal with her screaming for the other parent. It was frustrating, to say the least. Ferberizing was the most difficult thing we had ever had to do, but it was so worth it in the end. And now she was backtracking to the beginning.

Thankfully, this only last for a couple of weeks. We stayed strong and consistent and Leah was able to settle back into her bedtime routine again.

Last night I had this moment while putting her to bed that was one of the single best moments in motherhood. It was one of the best moments in my life, actually. We did our usual hugs and cuddles, and then I put her down and tucked her in. I leaned over the side of the crib and rubbed her forehead for a few minutes. Her eyes drifted shut and I thought that she was asleep. I stopped rubbing her head and smiled down at her. As I pulled my hand away, her little eyes slowly opened back up. I thought for a moment that she may cry, but instead she gave me this look of pure love and adoration. Then, just I thought life could not get any better, she blew me a kiss!

Moments like that make all the hard parts of parenting so worthwhile. I know I must be doing something right to have such a sweet, loving, happy little girl. With tears of joy in my eyes, I told my baby that I love her, and quietly left the room as she drifted off to her sweet dreamland.

Leave a Reply

