Heartbreak from a Two-Year Old

Lately, Leah has been crying every time I leave her at daycare. Usually the teacher has to pry  her from my arms and I end up leaving in tears. When I return to pick her up I am always told that she calmed down immediately after I left and had a great day. Then all the way home she will tell me about all of the fun things she did all day.

After a particularly tearful goodbye one day last week, I was surprised to hear that Leah had an outstanding day after I left. I got Miss Chatty into the car and on the ride I asked her,

“Leah, don’t you have fun at daycare?”

“Yeah!” she replied enthusiastically.

“Then why do you always cry when mommy leaves?” I asked her.

She thought about this for a moment and then said, “Because it just hurts my heart.”

If only she knew how much that thought hurt MY heart! I never want to be the cause of any hurting for my child, especially her little heart. I guess the only thing that I can do is enjoy every second that I spend with her and take comfort in the fact that she does enjoy daycare once the initial shock of separation wears off.

I know this is a good thing for her, but a part of me just wanted to take her home, and never leave her ever again. I mean, if she really wanted higher education, I suppose I could move into her dorm, right?

3 thoughts on “Heartbreak from a Two-Year Old

  1. I remember those days. I feel for you. I hate to tell you it never gets any easier. You are right about the dorm thing — I have a 15 year old headed to Italy and Greece this summer with some teachers and I am about to go out of my mind thinking she will be so far way for so long. All I can say is I loved college the first time around. I hope it will be the same now that I am 40something! LOL

Leave a Reply

