I can’t find the moment

A few days ago I was uploading some photos to my shutterfly account. It had been awhile since I did this, and I was starting all the way from last fall. As I looked at the pictures of my daughter in the fall I realized how much her looks have changed in such a short period of time!

Just six months ago, she had shorter hair, chubby little hands and legs, and a generally baby look to her. Now that baby look is completely gone. Her beautiful curls hang halfway down her back, and are blonder than ever from the sun. Her legs have gotten longer and leaner. Her face is that of a gorgeous little girl, not a beautiful little baby. 

I started going through the pictures, pushing the forward button, trying to pinpoint the exact day when my daughter graduated from baby to child. I couldn’t find it. 

The truth is that it didn’t happen overnight, although the time does go by so quickly that it does feel that way. The lesson I learned is that I should never take any age or phase for granted. I need to live in the moment with my daughter, and enjoy every one. They go so quickly and are so precious. 

Even so, I know that one day in the not far enough future I will be flipping through pictures trying to find the moment when my little girl became a woman. 

5 thoughts on “I can’t find the moment

  1. I keep looking at my photos of you and it occurred to me that the moment was not in photos, but in memories of times we’ve spent together. It’s not so much in looks, as moments, jokes, conversations and adventures. You may be in your twenties, but the face I see when I look at you is that bright-eyed, curious little girl you will always be to me!

Leave a Reply

