Doesn’t anyone watch the Muppets?

About two years ago Leah got really, really sick with a stomach bug. To amuse her one night I snuggled up with her on the couch and looked up all sorts of Youtube videos for her. She already was a huge Sesame Street fan, but we also watched tons of old school Muppet videos. From then on she was hooked.

She loves the Swedish Chef and Animal, but I think her favorite sketch is “Mahna Mahna”. For those who don’t know, this sketch starts out with two pink creatures, the Snowths, singing a little tune together. Then this crazy, green furry guy keeps scatting and interjecting the words “mahna mahna”. Leah knows the whole tune and when to interject. It didn’t surprise me when she begged me to be the “Mahna Mahna guy” for Halloween this year. I obliged by making her costume and it is adorable.

Everyone asks her what she is going to be from strangers in the grocery store to friends and family members. About ninety percent have no idea what we are talking about when we explain what her costume is! I had no idea that it was such an obscure Muppet reference! I guess we will be going from door-to-door explaining her costume this year. I don’t care though, it makes her happy and that is all she wanted to be. And of course Dave and I will be backing her up as the “snowths”!

Have your kids or yourself ever had a costume that no one seemed to get? How did it turn out? Leave me some comments!

My little Muppet!

4 thoughts on “Doesn’t anyone watch the Muppets?

  1. My 2 1/2 year old son is obsessed with this muppet skit and the mahna mahna guy. He also wants to be the mahna mahna guy for Halloween. He tells everyone who asks him what ge wants to be and no one gets it. I googled mahna mahna costumes and found this post. You’ve inspired me to go out and find things to put this costume together for him. Halloween is the say after tomorrow, hope I can pull it off.

    • Michelle,

      You can totally do this! I sewed my daughter’s costume because I started it in August, but here are some ideas for your tight timeframe: Fine an adult or older child size green zip up vest for the clothing, orange clown wig, red clown rose, and round sunglasses. Good luck! I would love to see a picture of what you are able to pull together. If you want to share email me at bgina@nycap.rr.com.

Leave a Reply

