Live and Learn

I have said it before and I will probably say it again, but each day that I am Leah’s mom I am totally winging it. I have to teach myself how to be a parent at every stage of her life, and it does involve some trial and error. One thing I learned this week is that there are some things that you should plan ahead on. 

The particular “thing” that I am talking about is pre-school. I have been hemming and hawing over this for over a year now and going back and forth on whether or not I want to send her. I felt that since I stay at home with her we could save money and I could home school her with no problem. 

Well, there is a problem. In fact, there are a few. First of all, with my school schedule we have had almost no time in the past six months to do any lessons. We have worked on tracing her letters and simple “cookie math” (adding and subtracting cookies) but that is all.  Leah is so very smart, and really does not need a whole lot of help learning pre-school concepts, so that is not even the main concern. The main issue is socialization. She does dance class and has the occasional playdate, but she is always with me. I don’t want my daughter to be that kid in kindergarten who is always crying for her mommy. Oh, and yes I do have school, but she is with her grandparents while I am in class, so not really a school setting. 

Ideally, I would like her to go to a preschool program that is 2 or 3 half days. I just want her to get used to being in a school setting, listening to a teacher, and playing with other kids. The problems are that A.) most preschools are doing their fall registration now, and B.) I have NO idea what I will be doing in the fall or what my schedule will be like. I graduate in May and I am hoping to find some part time or freelance work, but that is whole different post. My point is, I have no plan. Dave has no plan. I have no idea what to do. Add in how much preschool costs, and my head is spinning with all of the stuff I should have been planning for the last year at least.

At least I know for the next one, decide on preschool ahead of time. And, apparently, save up for it!

Leave a Reply

