An Impractical Joke

If you don’t watch the show ‘Impractical Jokers’, I highly recommend it to anyone with a silly sense of humor. In the show, four friends compete to embarrass each other by coming up with crazy tasks for the other to do. Each episode has a loser who then is faced with some sort of ultimate embarrassment. The tasks range from simple things such as acting like they know a random person and getting the person to agree that they’ve met (usually at some crazy place the others come up with), to getting strangers to dance with them in a mall, to putting on a fake sensitivity training seminar in which they must present a PowerPoint created by the other guys that they have never seen before.

My  husband’s favorite episode features the guys at a buffet restaurant. Their task is to take food from other patron’s plates. Whoever has the most food wins the task. Each of the guys had a different strategy. One guy would point behind the person and when they turned would grab something quickly. Another guy was more direct and just went up to strangers and said, “This looks delicious!” while taking the food off of their plate. We were dying laughing and I think I said something along the lines of, “imagine doing this at a dinner party?” It was a rhetorical question, or so I thought.

For Christmas Eve this year, we went to my Aunt’s house. My Uncle Brian had prepared a delicious array of food for a formal sit down dinner. Everyone was slowing down after stuffing ourselves with prime rib and potatoes and all sorts of other goodies when Uncle Brian asked if he could get anything for anybody. Everyone said that they were set, including my Uncle Artie, who said he couldn’t eat another bite. Dave was sitting directly across from Artie, and I saw him reach across the table with his fork as though in slow motion. I was so shocked that I couldn’t even react quickly enough to stop him. He speared a large piece of prime rib from my Uncle’s plate, and put it on his own plate, immediately cutting into it and beginning to eat.

It seemed like everyone went silent for a moment, including Artie, who just kind of watched the whole thing happen. Then, thankfully, my wonderful family all burst out laughing. “Did that really just happen?” I asked. My Uncle Brian told my Dad that he has never been more impressed with his son-in-law than he was that night. Despite everyone finding the situation to be so hilarious, I was mortifying embarrassed. More than that time my mom barked in Kmart. Various family members told me not to be so embarrassed, that it would be a great story we could tell for years! That’s what I was afraid of.

So, the moral of this post is: Watch ‘Impractical Jokers’ on Thursday nights on , however folks, don’t try this at home!

Impractical Jokers- Buffet Video

Leave a Reply

