Plastic Shoe Karma

If any of you have little girls, you probably know those plastic dress-up shoes that I am talking about. They have a heel and they clank around and are too big for the feet of most little girls.

Last night on the phone with my  mom I was complaining about how I could hear Leah from across the house doing some horrible, clanky tap dance in her dress-up shoes. I also mentioned how I am terrified that she is going to break her ankle in these things.

My mom immediately started laughing and relayed her memories of me clanking around in those very same types of shoes as a little girl. She shared the same fear about my fragile little ankles, and added that I used to love going up and down the stairs with them on.

She also mentioned that she waited until I hadn’t worn them for a few days, and was out of the house, and then she threw them out. I never noticed. And since I have no recollection of ever owning plastic shoes, I think it’s safe to say that I wasn’t scarred by my mother throwing out a favorite “toy”. I think you can see where I am going with this…

Has anyone ever thrown out a toy of your child’s before? Was it a safety issue or just something that you couldn’t stand?

Leave a Reply

