Broken Heart

Yesterday at a lunch with my mom and my aunts, I overheard a conversation about my grandma, who I called Mrs. C. I hear my aunt say that Mrs. C died of a broken heart. It is so sad to think that, but it’s true. She spent her entire life being madly in love with and devoted to her husband. Together they had eight children, and I couldn’t even tell you how many of us grand-children there are!

Mrs. C never learned to drive, so Mr. C would drive her anywhere she needed to go. I remember being at their house one day and he drove us to the market and then the three of us went out to lunch. Even at a ripe old age you could tell how much these two loved one another.

When Mr. C got sick, his wife never left his side. She was more devoted to him then ever before. She outlived him by several years, but she was never the same after his death. It was like when he left, a big piece of her was gone as well. She truly died of a broken heart.

The end of my grandmother’s life was tragic, but if you think about it, isn’t it better to have loved that deeply and to have had so many years of happiness in a marriage? Even though she couldn’t stand life without her husband, they did have a long and happy life together.

When I think about my marriage I hope that I am the kind of woman who will be okay without my husband. At the same time, I know that if I ever did have to live without him I would be absolutely heartbroken. I know that I could function and take care of myself, but I would never be the same. Although I hope it never comes to that (at least for a very long time), I am glad to know that I love someone deeply enough to have a broken heart if I lose him.

The lesson I can take away from my grandparent’s marriage is to live each day like it’s our last day together. I want to be able to say that we had many years of happiness together and that we stayed devoted to our marriage. I can’t sweat the small stuff and I won’t hold a grudge. It’s just not worth it, and I am sure that my wonderful grandma, Mrs. C, never would have done those things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

