Living the Dream

Have you ever seen the movie ‘Office Space’? Dave made me watch it with him last weekend, and I have to say it was pretty good and very funny. Despite the fact that it is a comedy, it actually caused me to do some reflecting on how the theme applies to my life.

The main character talks about how you are supposed to figure out your dream job by imagining what you would do if you could do anything and money was no object. He comes to the conclusion that he would do nothing and relax. By the way, this guy totally reminded me of Dave. They even look scarily alike and I often wonder if Dave would just hang out if we ever won the lottery.

Anyway, I started to think about what I would do if money were no object and I could do anything. The first thing that popped into my head was travel. I have always dreamed of going overseas and seeing Italy, Ireland, Spain, Greece, France… you get the picture. But then I realized that I would want that to be a hobby and not be traveling for some sort of career.

The more I thought about it, the more I realized that I want to write. If money were no object I would hire a nanny and I would write for four hours each day, and then spend the rest of the time with Leah. In reality, I can’t hire a nanny and I don’t have four hours to spend writing every day. Sometimes it is a struggle to find time just to write this blog. That doesn’t mean that I can’t attain my dream, though. If I make just a little bit of time for myself to write each day, then eventually I think I could actually consider myself a writer.

“What do I want to write?”, you may ask. Well, for one I would love for my blog to take off and develop a large following of adoring readers (hehe). Ultimately, I would really love to write a fiction novel. I know it’s cliche to want to write The Great American Novel that wins the Pulitzer Prize, but hey I would settle for being on the New York Times Bestseller list.

I have a dream, and I can and will reach it. Even if it takes me ten years, I plan to be a published author. Someday.

Leave a Reply

