Speaking of Traditions…

It has also been passed down to Leah. Several months ago, in the fall, Dave and I were going out on a date. I think it was our wedding anniversary. My mom eagerly volunteered to have Leah sleep over. It would not be the first time, but it had been awhile.

Leah gave them a bit of a hard time going to bed. She finally was able to sleep after my mom agree to let her sleep in her bed with her. Sometime in the middle of the night Leah woke my mom up and told her, “Mana, I’m hungry.” Instead of telling her to wait until breakfast as I would have, my mom got up and cut up a green apple and let Leah eat it in bed.

Winter came, and again, Dave and I had a date night while Leah slept over my mom’s. This time she went to bed like a champion (earning her a blue ribbon, I might add!) Still, though, she woke my mom up in the middle of the night, this time saying, “Mana, remember the time I slept over and we had a picnic in bed with the green apples?” My mom remembered. And she obliged by cutting up another apple.

So of course, last weekend when Dave and I had a party to attend… well, you all know what happened. This time my mom was kicking herself a little for starting the apple picnics, because it seemed that Leah, just like her mommy (and her mana) had decided that it was a fun new tradition! And sure enough, all week I kept hearing, “Mommy, when I can sleep over at Mana’s and Papa’s again so I can have a pcinic in bed?”

Be careful what you do with Leah, because you never know what she will declare a new tradition!

Leave a Reply

