Oooh, shiny!

Dave thinks I am easily distracted by shiny objects. Maybe he is right. Yesterday I got highlights put in my hair and they are a shiny, caramel color. As Leah was brushing her teeth last night I was admiring my new look in her bathroom mirror, shining under the lights.

I gave her a little cup of children’s mouthwash and went back to checking myself out. After about 30 seconds I looked down at Leah to see her cheeks all puffed up and her eyes frantic- I had forgotten to sing her her “swishy, swish” song that ends in “aaaaand, spit!” She was waiting for me to give her the okay. I sang a very quick version and let her spit, and then we looked at each other and burst into laughter.

Every time I tried to stop laughing, Leah and I would look at each other and start all over again. She kept on saying “Stop, mommy! Take a deep breath”, but that only made me laugh even harder.

It reminded me of all the times that I went into uncontrollable fits of laughter with my mom. I felt bad for forgetting the swishy song, but it sure did make for a beautiful moment between my daughter and I. Okay, more like twenty beautiful moments, since we were still cracking up as I tucked her into bed!

Leave a Reply

