Just Freakin’ Try It!

Sorry for the poor quality, but it's too funny not to share. This is Leah pouting over an unwanted dinner.

Sorry for the poor quality, but it’s too funny not to share. This is Leah pouting over an unwanted dinner.

Leah is a very picky eater. She has been since she was a little baby. She has never really liked meat at all. At first, I couldn’t blame her. The mushy meat that comes in the baby food jars reminds me of cat food. But now she is nearly four and her only sources of protein are hotdogs, chicken nuggets, peanut butter, yogurt, and cheese. To make matter worse, she plays the typical game of suddenly “not liking” something that she normally eats. I am sure she must get sick of things with having such a limited palate, but it is still frustrating for me.

As a child (and now) I have always been overweight. I do not want to give my daughter a complex or for her to even be thinking about that right now, but I am very conscious of it on her behalf. She will always be beautiful to me, but I don’t want her to go through what I went through, from being made fun of in elementary school, to crying in the fitting rooms in middle school. And yet, I have this gorgeous little girl who would live on a diet consisting of carbs, ice cream, and cookies if I let her.

I am getting sick of the routine of making a second meal for her almost every night. I have heard the whole bit about just giving her what we are having, but you have no idea how stubborn this girl is! She will resort to tears or just downright refusal to even try anything new. So, if she won’t eat her dinner, what do I do? Let her go to bed hungry? Maybe that is what I have to do. I want her to eat a more balanced diet so that she can be healthy, but I am also sick of throwing away food that she used to like because the wind changed.

Leave a Reply

