Nightmare or Dream Come True?

One of the things that makes me most in awe of being a mom is when Leah has a nightmare. Not that I want my child to have bad dreams, but I love the feeling I get when she comes into my room late at night and I hear her say, “Mommy?” It’s not just the cuddles I get and the fact that I get to see her (yeah, I miss her at night!), but the fact that I (me?) can make somebody feel safe. That I am the one who can comfort her and make her feel secure enough to drift into dreamland once again.

These middle of the night interludes make my heart soar with love for my daughter, and love for being a mom.

Leave a Reply

