A Letter to Leah

Dearest Leah,

I love you so much. Right now you tell me all of the time that I am your “BFF Forever!”, but I know this may not always be the case. You will go to school and make friends, and I will be super lame. That’s okay. I know that eventually, when you are ready, you will come back to me. I was an easy teenager and kept a close relationship with my mom (mana), but I don’t know if that will be the case for you. Either way, just know that I love you, I am here for you, and no matter what is troubling you I am always here to listen, hug you, wipe away your tears. I am always on your side. That doesn’t mean that I will always tell you that you are right- it means that when I tell you that you are wrong I am doing it to teach you that the world does not always revolve around you. It means I am making you into a strong person who is okay with her faults, and who learns from her mistakes. You will make mistakes. I promise. They will help make you who you are. There is nothing you can ever do that would take away my love, though. There is no mistake so big that I will not do everything in my power to help you up, dust you off, and send you on your way again.

One more thing- you are beautiful, both inside and out. Don’t ever let anyone tell you otherwise. Right now, at age four, when I tell you that you are pretty you grin from ear to ear and say, “I know!” You probably won’t always be so confident. You will get really tall, you will feel awkward, and you will get zits. That doesn’t matter, though. It happens to everyone and you will still be beautiful as long as you keep on smiling. Nothing can ever take away that beautiful smile of yours, or your gorgeous, kind, sweet, funny, and generous personality.

I love you to the moon and back 5 million times, little girl, and that will never change. When you feel like the whole world is against you and nothing can go right, just remember that there is always someone out there who loves you.

xoxoxo

Love Always,

Mommy

Leave a Reply

