Huh…Didn’t See That Coming!

There is no amount of coffee that could have prepared me for this early morning question from Leah:

“Mommy, how do people get preg-a-nent?” (she adds extra syllables to certain words. It’s adorable).

My response went something like this:

“Wow! Um…well, haha. That’s a tough one. Haha, uh…you see…”

Leah said, “What I’m really asking is how does the baby get IN the mommy’s belly?”

I said, “Um, yeah. Good question. Well, um. It kinda just starts from nothing and then just grows in there. Yeah.”

“Oh.” Leah got very quiet and the worst part is that I could feel her silently judging me. She is no dummy. She knows I lied.

I don’t like to lie to my daughter. At the beginning of this pregnancy, I had no problem setting her straight on the fact that the baby will not be exiting through my mouth. She is very mature and did not seem taken aback when I told the truth.

This, however, is a whole different conversation. One that I hoped would come up…never! Okay, not never, but four is too young for a sex talk. I want my little girl to stay innocent as long as possible. That being said, I need to come up with a better prepared response in case it comes up again. Something that doesn’t lie, per se, but also doesn’t reveal too much. Any suggestions?

 

© Gina DeMarco and The Adventures of Supermom, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Gina DeMarco and The Adventures of Supermom with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

4 thoughts on “Huh…Didn’t See That Coming!

Leave a Reply

