Quarter Century

That is how old I will be tomorrow- 25. I can’t believe I am halfway through my twenties already!

At this time last year I was feeling depressed and disappointed in all of the life goals that I hadn’t met yet. Between then and now so much has changed and I am really happy with where I am at.

Last year I was lamenting the fact that I was still in school and had never traveled, blah, blah, blah. Now I realize that most people haven’t traveled by 25, and that many people are still in school. I am so proud of myself for getting a two-year degree last May, and now I am rocking out my Bachelor’s program and daydreaming about getting a Master’s and the direction I want to go with my career. Instead of secretly envying those who have already finished their education, I am taking this opportunity to brag about the fact that not only did I get a 4.0 last semester- but I did it all from home, with a four year old, and in my third trimester of pregnancy! Yes, I am awesome.

I also realized that I have so much to be grateful for. I now have not one, but two, beautiful children. I would not trade motherhood for the world and if I accomplish nothing else in life than giving life to these two amazing kids then I can still feel fulfilled. I also have a wonderful husband who helps with the kids, and is always around, and who I really enjoy being with. I hear so many couples who say that they can’t spend too much time together if they want to get along, and if that works for you that is great. But I have to say that I truly enjoy spending time with my husband and I miss him when he is working.

My priorities have changed and my goals have shifted. I still want to see the world and write a book, but I have plenty of time for that. Right now I want to hold my baby close and build a lego tower as tall as Leah. They are only babies and children once and I can’t get enough of taking it all in, because I know it won’t last.

At 25, I finally feel like a real adult. I feel like I know what is important in life, and I feel like a birthday is not something to dread or a time to lament what you haven’t done. It’s a time to celebrate life, especially the things that you have done.

 

Leave a Reply

