Babies Don’t Keep

1896769_578620818124_1652425872_nI found this meme floating around on Facebook and it really struck a chord with me. I spend so much time obsessing and worrying about my house looking perfect, and sometimes (more often than I care to admit) I neglect the more important things in life.

Children don’t keep any more than babies do, and Leah does not care if the furniture has dust or if the floors need to be washed. She cares about me sitting down and interacting with her. And my goodness, I forgot how quickly babies grow! Christopher is five weeks old today and he has changed so very much. If you blink, babyhood will be gone.

I take pride in my home, and that is a good thing. I admit that I like things to be clean and organized and that clutter actually makes me uncomfortable. I laugh at myself and accept who I am. But, it doesn’t have to be perfect all of the time. Especially if my baby needs to be snuggled or my daughter needs me to comb some Barbie hair. Soon my baby will be too busy to want to sleep on my chest and my daughter will want to play with her friends, and not me.

Life goes so quickly. Childhood flies by, especially when you are the parent. Don’t let it pass you by.

I couldn't possibly ruin this level of comfy!

I couldn’t possibly ruin this level of comfy!

Leave a Reply

