Mommies Can’t Fix Everything :(

When I was a little girl and one of my toys broke I would bring it to my Dad, who always found a way to mend it. He would ask me, “What can Daddies fix?” and I would answer, “Anything!” I remember the first time I had a broken heart and he told me how sad he was that he can’t fix everything anymore.

I never thought I would be experiencing that feeling when my daughter is only four. My husband and I have diligently fixed everything from Barbie heads and legs, to scraped knees. But today, for the first time, I was not able to fix something for Leah.

I took her to the playground because it is one of the first beautiful days here in NY. Because it is Spring break, there were tons of kids there. Many of them were older, but a few were her age. She found three little girls who she tried desperately to play with, but they kept brushing her off. I watched it all happen from where I sat with Christopher in the shade, but there was nothing I could do. If I was the type of mom to say something (which I am not) it would not have taught my daughter a thing. But still, this was a lesson that I didn’t really want her to learn.

She followed them around for a good half hour (she is determined), but to no avail. The girls kept walking away from her. When we came home, she tearfully told me that she just wanted to play with them, but they told her the tree they were sitting under was private and she could have her very own rock, about 100 yards away from them. What could I do? What could I say to make it better?

I told Leah that she is an awesome little girl. There will be kids who will play with her and be her friend and that is amazing. But there will also be kids who are not willing to let in an outsider, and when that happens those kids are the ones missing out. She smiled sadly. She understood what I meant, but it didn’t take away the sting of rejection.

I guess I handled it to the best of my ability. As a mom, we all think our own kid is great and it is hard to fathom that anyone would not want to know them. Moms and Dads, how would you have handled it?

3 thoughts on “Mommies Can’t Fix Everything :(

  1. What a heart breaking situation. I probably would have done the same thing as you. I guess if she ever does the same to another child you can remind her of how awful it felt to be excluded? I hope she is ok! All the best to your family

    • Thank you! I did take the opportunity to tell her she should always include others, although she has never turned down a child who wanted to play with her. I am sure at some point she will, all children do it. And when/if that time comes I will most certainly remind her!

  2. This blog made me tear up, because that sounds like Ari. She loves to make friends and be with people and she has such a big heart she would reject anyone, that someone breaking her heart would kill me. You handled it the way I would. Or I sometimes even call Ari over and tell her, they don’t want to play right now, go ahead and swing or something, to keep her from pushing too much and getting hurt. I hate seeing kids be rejected to play with others. But sadly it is life. You did a great job though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

