No One Hurts My Baby…Not Even My Baby!

It happened. It was bound to happen at some point, but still it shook me up. My little boy got hurt/scared today. Not only that, but it was my little girl’s fault. He was playing on his play mat very happily, and she leaned over it to talk to him. Wanting to play with her brother, Leah grabbed one of the hanging toys, but then she accidentally let go of it and it came swinging back and hit Christopher in the face. It was purely by accident, and it was a soft toy and did not really hurt him, but it scared him and he screamed. I was sitting right there and immediately snatched my baby up to comfort him.

My very first instinct was to yell at Leah. It didn’t matter that she is one of my babies- she hurt my other baby and I wanted to cry and yell and blame. But, I didn’t. I took a deep breath, and spent a moment calming Christopher down. It took surprisingly long considering that he was not actually hurt.

I then turned to look at Leah, and saw the look of terror mixed with remorse that was on her face. And then I remembered all the times I accidentally bumped her head getting her into the car or even on a wall walking by. I am sure those times are to come with Christopher as well. As much as we want to be Super Mom and never see our kids hurt, it happens to the best of us. We feel horrible, but they are okay.

I assured Leah that it was just an accident, and that while she needs to be careful with the little guy, he was not hurt and she was not in trouble. She buried her face in the couch for a moment, but then I showed her that he was okay and encouraged her to give him a kiss. We all moved on, crises averted, and I hugged both of my sweet babies.

Leave a Reply

