Happy Mother’s Day!

It is Mother’s Day once again! I love Mother’s Day, not because it celebrates me, but because I get to celebrate my mom and all of the other wonderful women who have influenced my life in a motherly way. In addition to my amazing, beautiful, strong mother, I grew up surrounded my two grandmas, lots of aunts, a step-mom, and even a spare mom (the mom of a really good friend of mine who became like a brother, so we share our moms, too!)

All of these women in my life taught me so many things. They taught me that it’s possible to love another child as much as you love your own. They taught me that sometimes you need to vent when your actual mom annoys you, but that you should still always respect her.

Moms, and even all of the extra moms in your life, definitely deserve recognition on this day. It wasn’t until I had children that I realized how many different hats we wear as mothers. We do so much more than just give birth to our children. We dole out hugs and kisses, wipe sticky hands, cuddle, feed, potty-train, teach them independence but that it’s also okay to ask for help. There are so many delicate balances that we must keep in check, and yet we love to do it because being a mom is the most amazing job in the world.

I am still navigating, every day. I have raised one baby into a wonderful little girl, but she is always changing and every day is a new challenge. But it’s a challenge that is well worth meeting.

Happy Mother’s Day, to all of the wonderful moms out there who read my blog 🙂

2 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

