He Can Still Hear Me

I was very close to my grandfather (my “papa”) growing up and was devastated when he passed away when I was in high school. I am always telling Leah all about my papa and sharing my memories of him with her.

Today in the car she asked me, “Mommy, wasn’t your papa so funny?”

“Yes he was!” I responded. “I miss him so much.”

“Oh, mommy, didn’t you know that you can still talk to him even though he’s gone?”

“I can?” I asked, wondering what she meant.

“Yes, you can!” she said enthusiastically. “He can still hear you because he is in your heart forever.”

Sometimes it takes the innocence of a child who is loved to remind you that your loved ones can always be your loved ones, even long after they are gone. Thank you, my sweet girl.

4 thoughts on “He Can Still Hear Me

Leave a Reply

