Miss Understanding

The other day Leah came home from school and told me, “Mrs. B said that when I grow up I am going to live really, really far away!”

I asked, “She did? How does she know?”

“I don’t know. That’s just what she said.”

“Wait a minute, Leah,” I said, “Did she say that you are going to go far?”

“Yes!”

I am just tickled by semantics when it comes to kids, and the way in which they interpret phrases that adults think nothing of.

Also, Mrs. B, I agree with you. My girl is going to go far! I just hope that she doesn’t move really, really far away to do so!

Leave a Reply

