Happy Birthday Little Man!

One year ago today, my beautiful son made his way into the world. This year has been a heck of a ride, with so many changes, but he has made me smile every single day of it. I could not be happier to be Christopher’s mama, or prouder of how well Leah has taken to being a big sister.

On January 8th, 2014 I was admitted to the hospital at about 5 in the evening to be observed overnight as I prepared to be induced with Pitocin in the morning. Shortly after I arrived, and just as Dave was getting me settled in there so he could head home and sleep, I began having regular contractions! We walked the hallways for about an hour and I remember being shocked at how much walking eased the pain. When it stopped working, Dave ran out to get some dinner. Almost as soon as he returned my water broke. Christopher had a mind of his own and he was not going to wait for Pitocin, for Daddy to get some sleep, or for Mana to arrive. It was go-time!

I labored for about 8 hours in total and amazed myself as I pushed through the pain. I had an epidural, but it only worked on one side of my body! At 2:27 am Christopher was born. The doctor immediately placed the baby on my chest. I remember not caring at all how gooey he was and just kissing him and rubbing his little feet as he showed off his lung capacity. He had no trouble nursing whatsoever.

It has been an amazing year. I love the antics of this boy, even though he is definitely a handful! I always say that he likes to keep us sleep deprived and on our toes! Every day he finds something new to get into, and I was not at all surprised when he began walking at 11 months old. Despite how much he motors, he is still a little cuddlebug and a total Mama’s boy. He isn’t talking much, but he says “mama” in the most adoring tone. He also says dada, Lala for Leah, hi, uh-oh, ow, and did it!

I could go on all day, but I really just want to say Happy Birthday, CW!

cw2 cw1 IMG_0692 IMG_0209 IMG_0193 DSCN3228 DSCN2882 DSCN2499 DSCN2032 DSCN1943 DSCN1936

Leave a Reply

