Extortion

I haven’t yet shared with you all that I am now a working woman. I haven’t given up my role as mother/homemaker extraordinaire, but rather I have found myself a happy medium working several nights per week in a group home for adolescents. It is great experience for me doing some rewarding albeit often frustrating work, but I am also still at home during the day for the kids.

Dave is doing an awesome job picking up the slack and taking over on the nights when I work. He makes dinner, gives the kids their baths, picks up the playroom, does Leah’s homework with her, and gets them both off to bed. It’s a lot for one person to do!

Last night he got CW to bed, and then looked at the disastrous mess that was the playroom. He asked Leah to help him pick up.

“No way!” she replied. “I don’t want to. I didn’t even make this mess. It was Chris.”

“I know,” Dave said. “But it would really help me out and make it faster if you would just do this with me.”

“Nope.”

“How about if I give you a dollar?”

“Make it two dollars and you’ve got a deal.”

Leah is now two dollars richer. That’s my girl!

Leave a Reply

