So Proud

For those of you who are new readers, or who don’t remember this, four year old Leah did not want any siblings. When she heard the news that we were expecting her little brother, she was angry with me. She told me that she wanted to be an only child forever. When she came to see him in the hospital, she glared defiantly at me and didn’t ask to hold him.

Our first night home, however, she gave in. I will never forget how exhausted that little girl was, after three days of being juggled around by three sets of grandparents (and spoiled, too!) She couldn’t hold up her facade of not having any interest whatsoever in the little pink, chubby faced boy peering at her from the blankets. For several weeks she would tell me that she was only pretending to love her brother to make me happy, but it was apparent that she was only trying to protect her bruised ego; she was hooked. She was smitten.

When a child has been raised as an only child for 4 1/2 years, it isn’t easy to suddenly have their world turned upside down by a new baby. And it certainly didn’t help that Christopher was no “easy baby”. He required a lot of time and attention. Leah sat quietly by, observing the small bundle that was taking over her mommy’s life and biding her time until he was old enough to play.

Play, they did! As Chris began to walk he quickly learned how to go to her bedroom door and knock relentlessly until she let him in. He learned to call her name from his crib for some extra smiles and attention, and that she could open up a popsicle almost as well as mommy could. As for Leah, she took it all in stride, learning that it’s fun to be the “boss” and to have a built in playmate who is always up for whatever adventure you have in mind.

I just want to say that I am so incredibly proud of my little girl. Raising Chris is no easy task. Even at 3 1/2 years old he still takes up a lot of my time and attention. There are appointments every week, and the infinite patience that I have had to develop to deal with his meltdowns. 99% of the time, my daughter is exceedingly patient, kind, and tolerant of her brother.

It isn’t easy to be a superstar- the oldest child with the highest expectations from mom and dad. Keep your grades up, don’t whine, be a good role model for your brother. But she does it all, most of the time without being asked. She is talented in so many ways, and yet she know how to just have fun and be a little girl as well.

I hear the patience in her voice when she explains things to Chris. Sometimes I see her getting frustrated, and there are even times when she uses her older sister status as an excuse to be bossy. But for the most part, she is just his partner in crime and most of all, his best friend. As a parent, there is nothing better than watching your children love one another.

Leah Noelle, you will be eight years old soon, but I should say eight years young. You are still so little, less than a decade old. You have many experiences yet to come and life lessons waiting to be learned. But even so, you are wise beyond your years and kind beyond anything I have ever seen. I know that it’s not easy, but I need you to know that I see you. I see everything you do to help me, and I appreciate it. I am so proud of you.

Leave a Reply

