To Three, or Not to Three?

THAT is the question!

I have always wanted a big family, and I love babies. The snuggles, the smell, all the “firsts” that we get so excited for. But lately I find myself wondering if we really want to start all over again. Leah and Chris are getting so independent, and (Hallelujah!) Chris is finally sleeping better. Do we really want to go back to midnight feedings?

Christopher is also starting pre-school in the fall, which breaks my heart, but also is a little exciting. We have already surpassed the age gap that we would have wanted for another tot, and I have recently lost quite a bit of weight, which begs the question, am I willing to stretch this skin back out again and allow hormones to do their magic on my body that I have worked so hard for?

All of those seem like good reasons to throw in the towel and admit that we are done with the baby phase of our lives. But then I see pregnant friends, ultrasound pictures, or a sweet little one will smile at me and the feelings come rushing back! Being a mom is the greatest blessing, and an amazing adventure. I am not sure I can really say that I am done!

Ugh, what a dilemma! Please feel free to share your thoughts and opinions in the comment section!

 

2 thoughts on “To Three, or Not to Three?

  1. I can definitely understand where you are coming from. Now being 7 months pregnant with number three has me nervous. I started out at 24 and thought that I was going to have an only child as it took almost 6 more years to have another one. And boy did that second one give me a run for my money. I wasn’t sure that adding another would be too much. But now here I am at 39 and having my third. I definitely would not change it for the world, I love kids. I am still nervous.😳

Leave a Reply

